There are reviews posted on various advertising websites where the farm is featured.  You can do a Google search for "Wolftrap Farm Gordonsville Reviews" and see up to date reviews on those various sites.  Here are some we have copied and pasted in to get you started.  The ones you will find by a Google search may be more up to date.   Or just click on the button to see the Reviews posted on our Facebook page, which seems to now be where people are finding it easiest to put reviews.

Reviews from Vacationers:

Reviews Posted on TripAdvisor

(Sep. 2013) - We stayed in the "Pond House" for four nights. Very nicely furnished, clean and extremely comfortable. The house had everything we needed. Plenty of blankets and pillows. Nice sized kitchen for cooking even though we used the barbeque each night and ate out on the screened patio. The views from the house are beautiful. Very tranquil setting. Enjoyed fishing in back pond each day - caught a few large fish. Loved seeing the horses each day and fed them carrots. Also, deer in the yard a few times. Tina and Mr. Cuthrell were very helpful. We arrived late but the lights were on and house ready for us.

Lots to do in the area. Went on a trail ride with the barn located next door, which was great. Went to Montpelier to James Madison's estate - very lovely. Shopped in Charlottesville. Visited Shenandoah National Park and spent day on Skyline Drive and Blue Ridge Parkway, Luray Caverns. All within an hour or less from the house. I can't think of any cons - other than we didn't have enough time to do everything. Definitely plan on returning!!

(April, 2015) - The Wolftrap Farm was very welcoming. We weren't sure what to expect-upon arrival it felt like we were home. The suite we stayed in had a kitchenette along with a long porch (we were on the 2nd level) to enjoy the beauty of the farm and countryside. Our two kids (20 and 17) had the entire 2nd story suite that had 2 day beds and a fold out couch. We had our own bathrooms with shower (ours had a jacuzzi bath/shower). All very clean and very tastefully decorated. The house had a dining room, sitting room with attached t.v. area and a full size kitchen. There is a hot tub right off the rear of the house that was ready for us to use and very clean. The house had a small cottage behind the hot tub, hopefully we were not too loud for those tenants. The farm is truly a horse farm-they were beautiful. The owner was great to do business with and the manager did a wonderful job making us feel at home, but never intrusive. We had the house to ourselves because of the off-season which made it feel like it was there just us! What a wonderful weekend we had. I have been telling everyone about it. This is a must do if you are in need of a great place to stay out in the Virginia countryside (but not too far from EVERYTHING.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family

(July, 2014) - My husband and I spent 4 days at the pond house with my son and his wife. The screened in porch was amazing! Its shaded and stays cool all day, even in July! There was plenty of space for us to spread out and plenty to do right here without ever leaving, if you choose. We especially enjoyed sitting by the firepit each night and listening to the symphony of nature. Everything is provided here, bedding, cookware, wood, even a washer and dryer. You might bring your own fishing poles as most of the ones here were broken, needed work, or were in bad shape. I could have lived on the screened porch forever! Many wineries are near by and its only 4 miles to Gordonsville if you need groceries.

(2009) - The house itself is beautiful and is furnished like a stately home. It is nevertheless extremely relaxing and comfortable. The owners are unobtrusive but highly friendly and helpful. There are beautiful views of hills, pastures, stables, woodlands, and a pond. This is our third visit and we hope to return many times.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business

Reviews Posted on VRBO or Homeaway

(Manor House, June, 2015) - We had the best vacation as a family at Wolf Trap Farm. We lived outside in the afternoon and evenings playing corn hole, swinging, or riding the golf cart around the lovely property. We also enjoyed the fire pit while drinking wine in the evenings. There are so many vineyards close by to the property but unfortunately we didn't get to take advantage of those since we had our kiddos with us! We will be back to do that for an adult weekend! This is a great property and you will not be sorry for booking this. We just wish we had more time there! Keith and Katie were also awesome to work with and were extremely responsive when we needed them.

  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Submitted: July 20, 2015
  • Source: VRBO

(Manor House, Dec. 2014) - Really enjoyed our visit to the farm. Grounds are beautiful, and the owners really worked with us to make check in easy and answer all of my annoying questions about the property. A group of 30somethings celebrated a birthday here. Easy to trek out to wineries, and the fire pits were terrific for gathering after dinners. There isn't a big tv room or large space beyond the dining room to gather, if you're a family with kids parking in front of the TV, but we really enjoyed spending all our time in the house in the kitchen, dining room, and outside. Having so much space outdoors was absolutely terrific. You're in the country, but with all the conveniences very near by. Really enjoyed being here, and will likely return! Hosts were so easy to deal with. Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Submitted: December 22, 2014
  • Source: VRBO

(Manor House & Servants' Cottage, Dec. 2015) - This is my second year returning to the WolfTrap farm. The entire property is a fantastic place to spend a weekend amongst beautiful scenery and with great access to local attractions. The manor home and cottage are both well equipped and extremely comfortable. Our group of 30somethings really enjoyed the entire visit.

  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Submitted: December 9, 2015
  • Source: VRBO

(Servants' Cottage. Dec. 2015) - My wife and I stayed at the Servant's Cottage for a long weekend "babymoon" trip. Wolftrap Farm was the perfect location since we wanted to have a mix of urban attractions (Charlottesville) and quiet relaxation time in a scenic place. The cottage will well equipped with almost anything you'd need for a getaway. There isn't any cable or wifi, but we didn't really miss either. [This was an error; there is wi-fi.] The grounds of Wolftrap Farm were the best thing about the trip. We loved taking walks around the property and checking in with our temporary neighbors (the horses). The wooded trails on the property were another cool feature. Another plus is that the property is dog friendly. Our vizsla enjoyed roaming the grounds and meeting the animals. The short drive (~35 minutes) to Charlottesville was easy and very scenic. We would absolutely recommend this cottage to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Submitted: October 22, 2015
  • Source: VRBO

(Servants' Cottage, August 2015) - We stayed at the Servant's Cottage on WolfTrap Farm as our hub for our trip to Charlottesville and Shenandoah National Park. Though a bit of a drive from each of those places, we enjoyed the beautiful surroundings as we passed through the miles of horse farms each day. The Cottage was all that we expected it to be: charming, comfortable and clean. The only negative (if you can really call it a negative) was that we were not able to get an internet connection. Both my husband and I found it refreshing to be "unplugged" for the time we were there. WolfTrap Farm was thoroughly enjoyable. We traveled with our dog, Stanley. This was his first exposure to horses and it was fun to watch him gain confidence in being near them each day of our stay. Each day, there were certain horses that would come to greet him each time we took a walk. The workers on the farm were also enjoyable, taking time to talk to us and answer any questions we had with regards to horse farming.

  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Submitted: August 19, 2015
  • Source: VRBO


Posted on our Facebook Page:

(April, 2014, Servants' Cottage) - Spent Easter weekend in the servants cottage. Everything was better than I expected! The bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. extra pillows and blankets were in a beautiful old cedar chest that doubled as a coffee table in the sitting area. The furniture was new and comfortable. There is a full kitchen with everything we needed to make and serve breakfast and dinner each day. A coffee maker and coffee, even condiments and half n half in the fridge! Plates, pots & pans, utensils, cork screw, wine glasses, spatula for the grill...There are ceiling fans on the porch and a huge table and chairs. Even a blow dryer in the bathroom! There are bikes in a "fun barn" along with a pool table, ping pong, darts, and foosball. Beautiful views and horses in every direction! Mary was just a phone call away for anything we may have needed. We had such a relaxing weekend. I will definitely be coming back!




Reviews From Wedding Parties:

Reviews Posted on

(September, 2016)
We absolutely loved this venue!! It was perfect for what we wanted! Rehearsal, rehearsal dinner and our wedding and reception were all held at the same place! Being able to stay the weekend at a wonderful price was such an added bonus!! The views were spectacular, our guests could not stop raving about it!! Also, the owner was fantastic, super prompt at answering questions and returned phone calls within the day! Super easy to work with! We recommended this venue!

(Sep. 28, 2014) - If you want an outdoor venue with that barn feel or old time feel this is the place for you! This place is all do it yourself. They provide the venue and you provide everything else...besides tables and chairs. I had my wedding here September 28th and it was perfect! We rented the homes so family from out of town and my family had a place to stay after the reception was over. We had the ceremony outside and the reception at the pavilion they have. If you have any questions they are very helpful and will get you the information you need. I absolutely loved having our wedding there and my husband and I will probably rent out one of the homes on the property for anniversaires. We are so happy we found this place!

(Sep. 27, 2014) - We could not have been more pleased with Wolf Trap Farm for our daughter's wedding on 9/27/14. The owner was always responsive to our questions. We had booked the farm before we knew that the pavilion would be available so were very excited to be able to use that facility and not have to rent a tent. It was beautiful & the caterer was happy with the set up, etc. The farm has several beautiful sites for the ceremony. To be able to have the entire wedding party stay at the farm was another PLUS! We had the rehearsal dinner there as well. Wolf Trap is a lovely venue tucked away in Orange County. It is definitely worth a visit!

(July, 2014) - Wolf Trap Farm in bucolic Orange County Virginia, 30 minutes from Charlottesville and Culpeper, 2 hours from DC, is a coming attraction venue that has a big future in the bridal industry, in our opinion as early customers of their B&B Manor House and new Pavilion event space. Our Bride and Groom hoped for countryside panoramic beauty, laid back surroundings, comfortable and responsive spaces and services. We got it all, including the "no bugs" in July the owner promised me were true on the top of the farm ridge where all the events were located. The staff are unpretentious and willing to do whatever it takes to make a memorable weekend of events. The photos of the ceremony looking out to the Blue Ridge over a green pasture valley couldn't have been more perfect if painted. We are happy happy parents of the Bride and Groom who had visions of what they wanted and found them to be fulfilled at WTF. Priceless!

(June, 2014) - Wolftrap farm was the most amazing location for my wedding. They were so helpful and accommodating to everything we needed or wanted. Friendly and down to earth people. Beautiful scenery with a rustic feel. People are still talking about the venue!!!

(Oct. 2013) - If you want a venue that you can cater exactly to your liking, this is the place for you. For those who do not want that kind of thing, be forewarned that Wolftrap does not provide anything but a space. You must bring in everything--food, rentals, etc etc etc. [This event was before we added the Pavilion.]  Given that Charlottesville was recently named the number one wedding destination in the country, prices have gone up like crazy. Wolftrap is an affordable and absolutely beautiful option for those of you who are on a budget and willing to get creative. I cannot say enough good things. We were maybe the second or third wedding to ever take place at the farm (found it on VRBO!), and since then, this place has become super popular for a reason. Keith the owner is very responsive and accommodating, as is the on-location staff. The farm itself is kept in pristine shape and the horses, barns and rolling hills add that special touch to what is guaranteed to be a beautiful event. The fact that our entire immediate family had a place to stay on location was the second best thing about the place (the first being how amazingly beautiful it is). The pavilion wasn't constructed when we got married, so we had the ceremony and reception on the front lawn which was just perfect.

(Dec. 2015) - My fiance and I are paying for the wedding ourselves, so finding a venue that was perfect for us, but didn't break the bank was more difficult than we thought it would be.  With the help of Wedding Wire, we found PERFECT venue for our wedding next fall. Getting in contact with Wolf Trap Farm was very easy, and they were very responsive and accommodating to my work schedule when scheduling a time to go out and tour the venue.
The price is great, and and everyone I have spoken with has been a pleasure to work with so far. I really love that we can decorate the pavilion to really make it our own. I am looking forward to continuing to work with such a great vendor that cares about the client's needs and happiness more than the money.

(Sep. 2014) - The Wolftrap Farm is breathtaking. It was the perfect backdrop for our wedding. The new pavilion is spectacular!! My guests had a wonderful time. Our stay was not without some significant hiccups, largely revolving around a last minute management change and a breakdown in communication (also related to the management change). Regardless, I am still compelled to leave a glowing review because I am extremely impressed with the owner. He is a reasonable and fair man and promptly worked with us to right the situation. All without throwing his staff under the bus. I have a lot of respect for someone like that. I feel confident that he will address the problems we ran into and cannot wait to spend some anniversaries at the farm. Thank you Keith, Katie, and Kenny for your professionalism!

Reviews Posted on our Facebook Page;

(September, 2016)  We had our wedding at Wolftrap Farm in September, and I could never thank Keith, Katie, and all the other farm staff for making sure our whole weekend ran smoothly. We rented the farm for the weekend, and choose to have our rehearsal dinner at the servant's cottage. It worked out perfectly, and was convenient for all of the family and bridal party that was staying onsite. Pictures do not do the farm or the houses on the property justice. I loved that the Pavilion was DIY, and I was really able to make my special day exactly how I envisioned. I would recommend Wolftrap Farm to anyone who is looking to have a beautiful outdoor wedding with a smaller budget. With this venue your options are endless and you will have a great and flexible staff close by for any need. It truly was the most perfect day!

(Oct. 2015) - The venue for my September wedding was perfect! I appreciated the flexibility, cost-efficiency, convenience, military-friendly, and beauty of the location. I loved how we were able to make a whole weekend out of the wedding with family and friends versus just one night like most other venues only allow.

It rained the night before the ceremony and the morning of; but it cleared a few hours before and made for a comfortable and cool outdoor ceremony and glorious pictures! The sun began peaking out right at sunset and provided the perfect backdrop against the mountains.

The warming kitchen was excellent for the caterers, the photographer had many photo opportunities, and the decorations looked better than imagined with the pavilion and ceremony landing. The best part was being to walk down the driveway after the ceremony, enjoy a drink and s'mores over the fire with family, then hop in bed a mere ten step away. My family and I agree that if we would do it again, we wouldn't change a thing!

Thank you Wolftrap Farm for the beautiful venue!

(Oct. 2015) - Just finished our stay for the entire weekend for my son and new daughter-in-law's most spectacular wedding! The pavilion was beautiful and all the guests loved the venue. The houses were the perfect setting for our wedding party and family, with plenty of room for all. We couldn't have found a better, more relaxing and beautiful location! Thank you, Wolf Trap

(August, 2015) - We had our wedding and spent 5 days around the wedding on the farm. Everything was absolutely perfect. The farm is just gorgeous and all our guests raved about the beauty of the place. The accommodations were comfortable and there was enough room for our families and bridal party to stay on the property, which was a real plus for us since it was a destination wedding. Katie was so helpful during our stay, I couldn't have asked for anything more. We will absolutely be back to celebrate anniversaries.

(Oct. 2015) - This venue for my October wedding was perfect! From the space in the houses to the privacy of the farm to the beautiful scenery, I could not have asked for a better venue. I completely recommend anyone looking for a wedding venue to check it out! We will certainly be back for an anniversary!!

(Oct. 2015) - I had my wedding here last weekend. It was absolutely perfect, and fit right within our very small budget (we had a Sunday wedding). I cannot say enough good things about this place and the amazing staff, especially Katie, who continually went above and beyond for us! The accommodations were fantastic - clean, affordable, and large enough for both sides of the family to stay. We loved the beautiful pastoral setting, the picturesque barns and houses, and the event pavilion. I can't wait to visit again for family reunions or perhaps our anniversary, and I will be recommending this gorgeous farm to everybody!

(May, 2015) - My daughter had her wedding at Wolftrap Farm. The entire wedding party and immediate family all stayed over the night before and night of the wedding. It was absolutely perfect! What a charming venue. The owners take good care of their guests. Highly recommended.

(July, 2014) - I had my wedding at Wolftrap in June and I am thankful we found this place!! We instantly fell in love with it. My wedding was beautiful and perfect in every way. Keith and his wife are such nice people and Mary was there if we needed. I would absolutely recommend this place as a getaway or to host your upcoming wedding!!

(June, 2014) - Wolftrap Farm was the PERFECT venue for our wedding. We wanted something different that wasn't as expensive as a vineyard package and my sister found Wolftrap. I had originally dreamed of Belle Haven, but it was more expensive and didn't include lodging so I was thrilled when they announced the pavilion.

We couldn't wait to show our guests around and they loved it! GORGEOUS views (and weather)! Mary was wonderful and we are already planning family reunions so we can get back there again!

Since we had our wedding here, we stayed in all 3 houses for 3 nights and we loved grilling as a family on Thursday before more of the guests arrived at the grill and table at the Servants cottage. On Saturday morning, the guys and the little ring bearers went fishing and had fun catching a bunch of fish! The pavilion was more than we could have asked for - plenty of toilets and space for the bar.

I wish we could do it all over again every weekend. It was great to be able to stay at the venue and not worry about transportation or forgetting anything at a hotel. If you are considering this venue for your wedding weekend, I would be happy to talk more about my experience with you! smile